Lessons learned at 20

IMG_5810

When people ask me how old I am, they will normally do a double take or have a surprised reaction.

“You’re 20, you look like you’re at least 14.”

The most common reaction I’ve noticed is peoples’ eyebrows lifting as if they’ve just had an epiphany or found out the mystery behind the Bermuda Triangle.

Every time this happens, I just stand there and smile. It used to be a smile of discomfort but now it’s more of an understanding smile, because I know I look young for my age.

For years, people would guess that I was 12-years-old. I kid you not. I was at least considered “12” for 2 or 3 years straight.

As of now, I normally get “16,” even though I’m 4 years plus that.

Life at 20 has been an interesting one so far. I’ve learned a few things that blew my mind and experienced moments that would change the way I viewed people and myself forever.

One theory I’ve stumbled across is at the age of 20, you no longer have to ask for permission to fly. Growing up, you get stuck in the habit of asking your parents or getting your friends’ opinions on choices before you make them.

When I turned 20, I didn’t feel obligated to ask for peoples’ input anymore. This can happen to anyone at different ages, but it truly sunk in for me at 20 because I started to trust and rely more on myself.

I’ve also learned that just because the stars are aligned and sparks are flying doesn’t mean what is meant to be will be. This was one of those lessons that I had to learn the hard way – as in seeing the guy you had the biggest crush on in your life kiss another girl right in front of you while you were sitting there feeling like a fool while sitting in a study room – kind of way.

I’ve also re-learned pretty obvious things at 20-years-old as well. The most common lesson is “people are people,” which means people will do things that push you away. People will laugh and talk about your appearance even though you two are complete and total strangers (this is something people seem to never grow out of). Also, people will accept you for who you are because they have no right to tell you who to be.

It’s true that you never stop learning and you can always learn something new every day. My junior year has just begun and I’m excitedly looking forward to what I’m about to learn next.

Comments/Feedback?